Birthday Quilt!!

Check out this gorgeous quilt I made for my best friend for her birthday! She is completely in LOVE with floral prints, so BariJ fabric from Art Gallery Fabrics is the obvious perfect choice. Each fabric in this lovely is from one of her lines. 

I wanted a quilt that really showcased her gorgeous designs, and found a picture online of a quilt in progress with hexies that I loved. I in general gravitate towards hexies (might be the chemist in me : ))I searched for a good tutorial or template for a few weeks, and finally found a half hexie template on cloud 9 fabrics site. The quilt they put together with the template wasn’t quite what I was looking for, but the template was totally perfect to improvise with. I cut the template out of card stock to give it weight and started cutting into all of my fabric.
  

I was able to get so many hexies out of fat quarters by using smart cutting. Each fat quarter gave me five full hexies! I cut the first half out, flipped over the template and used the same cut from the first cut of my next half. The picture below probably makes more sense than any explanation. After cutting four pairs from the main body, I lined up along the selvage end to get two additional halves.
   

  

I completely zoned and forgot to get a work in progress picture of the construction, but I sewed each column of hexies first together, and then joined the columns together. I backed this baby in a Kona cotton gray that I had at home for a simple neutral. Finally I did really simple quilting to not distract from those gorgeous floral prints, and a crisp white binding.
 
I recently picked up Mary Katherine Fons’ and in it she mentioned how she enjoys binding with basic black or white, and drew a comparison to framing artwork. That really resonated with me, expect a trend for the next few quilts!
 
I know this isn’t the best picture, but I couldn’t resist sharing how involved the bear is with helping me quilt. While working on hand binding in my arm chair, he hopped up and settled in right next to me.
After the quilt arrived home, my best posted the picture below of it right and at home with the rest of her florals.
 
Thoughts for today? What is your favorite way to bind your quilts? Do you get in trends, like my black and white frames? Or do you prefer a scrappy binding?
Xo- LJ
Leave a Reply

